Hyderabad Travelogue Destination 5 – Golconda Fort⛰️

Top post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers

It was around 12 pm when I left my relatives’ house for Golconda fort. After an hour or two of travelling (and dropping my cousin brother at the exam centre), we, finally, reached the fort. The sun was blazing and the silk top I was wearing clung to my skin, like a leech. Let me give me you some information about this ancient monument.

Built in Hyderabad, the Golconda (or Golla konda) citadel was the capital of the Qutub Shahi dynasty. It is an uphill climb to reach the temple situated at the very top – at 400 ft above sea level. In order to preserve the ruins, the government hasn’t carried out any beautification work; the broken steps lend it an old-wordly charm. You can also stop on the way for refreshments. I suggest you carry snacks and an extra bottle of water as there are no shops inside the fort.

Fort entrance
Fort entrance
Guide Map of Inner Fortification
Blueprint of the Golconda fort
Cannon
Ancient canon
Beautiful window carvings
View from below
The cimb begins!
People keep getting smaller
People already seem as small as matchsticks
Going up, up, up
Going up, up, up
City already visible
The city of Hyderabad is visible at this altitude
Climbing those wide steps is not for the faint-hearted
If you miss your step, it’s a steep drop into the valley
Solitude – ah, where had you vanished to?
Yass! Did it!
Yass! Did it! Reached the top!
Love this pic😍
Love this pic😍
I can't imagine what really happens here that they installed a CCTV here
Thanks for installing a CCTV camera where I least expected it
People relaxing while I'm on my way down
People relaxing while I’m on my way down

It was the first time I climbed a fort and that too, all by myself! I hope to explore more forts in the years to come! 😍

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pooja says:

    Beautiful pictures

    Like

    1. Vaishnavi says:

      Thanks dear

      Like

Leave a comment