Hyderabad Travelogue Destination 4 – Hussain Sagar☝️


Top post on IndiBlogger, the biggest community of Indian Bloggers

On my third day in Hyderabad, my relatives and I visited the Lumbini park and Hussain Sagar lake.

Lumbini Park is a small public park located at the centre of the city of Hyderabad, India. The park is built around the Hussain Sagar lake. Tourists need to take a boat to reach the larger-than-life Buddha idol placed at the middle of the lake. I had never been on a motor boat before – it was one of my firsts!

At the docks
At the docks

After waiting for about 20 minutes, we could get onboard a mechanised boat. It was all wobbly and shaky and I held tight onto the railing while climbing. Once I had settled in, I wasn’t scared anymore and started enjoying the moments.

On board the mechanised boat
On board the mechanised boat

The boat slowly winds its way to the Buddha idol, giving passengers the opportunity to feel the cool breeze on their faces and hear the lapping of water against the boat.

Carvings beneath the Buddha idol
Carvings beneath the Buddha idol

We alighted from the boat. I couldn’t resist going click-click with my phone!

More carvings
More carvings
Buddha side view
Buddha side view
Our Tricolour which rips apart every fortnight due to the wind speed
The Indian tricolour which rips apart every fortnight due to the wind
The Buddha in all his glory
The Buddha in all his glory
After an hour or so, we made our way back to the park. I tried out the Anti-Gravity Fall, which is a pulley with two ropes and has a safety bouncy surface. Initially, I was sceptical and I even felt breathless when I was bobbing up and down. But, it was a thrilling experience!

Leave a comment