Hyderabad Travelogue Destination 1- Ramoji Film City📽️

Solo trip (n):

Where you embark on a journey with only your soul for a companion

Before you tell me that traveling alone is no fun whatsoever, let me tell you a bit about myself. My family (strangely!) doesn’t like traveling and most of my girl friends don’t share the reckless streak that I possess. People ask me, “Aren’t you petrified of traveling alone? What if something happens to you?” I reply, “I prepare myself for the worst case scenario, but don’t dwell on it. This prevents my brain from going into overdrive and helps me enjoy my trip. Not everybody is bad, after all!”

Flights are super expensive and I prefer traveling by our good ol’ Indian Railways. The luxury and super-fast Shatabdi train to Hyderabad runs via Pune. I definitely couldn’t miss such an opportunity. The train was scheduled to arrive in Pune at 3. 45 a.m. and depart at 4 a.m. I was pretty sure that this train would also be delayed (like most Indian trains) but surprisingly, it was bang on time. I boarded the train and set off!

To my bad luck, the seat beside me had been booked by a fat, ugly-looking guy, who hogged half of my seat and was hell-bent on making me compromise on privacy. I had dreamt that a handsome young man would sit beside me. He would talk to me and it would be love at first sight. Jaisa filmon mein (aur sirf filmon mein) hota hai. Humph!

I tried my best to discourage him from making conversation and finally, he got the drift. Thank God for small mercies!

Nov 3rd, 2018

It was way past noon when I alighted at the Begumpet station. (Ps: This railway station is a stone’s throw from the Hakimpet Air Force Station. A friend of mine was training there at that time. I’ll save that story for later.)

I lugged my Aristocrat trolley bag over to the platform on the opposite side. At the ticket window, I bought a ticket to Lingampalli station. After waiting for 30 minutes, an MMTS local arrived.

I had to get onboard somehow, and I did. When I came to terms with my surroundings, I realised that I was sitting in the Physical Handicap compartment, with old, lecherous men drinking in my beauty. When the train stopped at the next station, I hurriedly alighted with my luggage and boarded the Ladies compartment.

At the Lingampalli station, I alighted and walked to the exit gate. My mami (aunt), thatha (grandpa) and cute little cousin bro were waiting to pick me up.

Nov 4, 2018

On the first day, I visited the famous Ramoji Film City. As per the Guinness Book of World Records, Ramoji Film City is the largest studio complex in the world. Spanning 1,666 acres, it was built by Ramoji Rao Garu in 1996.

Entry to Ramoji Film City
Entry to Ramoji Film City

Inside the Film City, red buses take you from one set to another. Magnificent buildings dot the scenery on both sides, so I kept turning my head from left to right!

Chennai Express Set

Chennai Express model train

Although a train named Chennai Express does exist, it wasn’t used in the film with the same name. The film was actually shot here, at the studios.

A dancer
A dancer

Bahubali Set

The highlight of my trip was the Bahubali set. It had been opened to visitors only a month ago. Seeing the beautifully crafted machines, cage, and throne, the movie came alive in front of my eyes.

Machines used in the War with Kalakeya
Bhallaladeva’s coronation throne
Chariot wheel
One of the horses of the throne

Bird Park

Ramoji Film City also has a Bird Park where birds are either kept in cages or left free to roam. This white bird has been trained to fly to and from the wooden swing. How cool is that?!

Kripalu Caves

Step into the Kripalu caves to immerse yourself in the magic of Lord Buddha.

Buddhist caves

Buddha with his disciples

Kids’ Play Area

Kids can have a jolly time at the Kids Play Area. Check out some photos I took there.

If you’re a movie enthusiast and buff like me, you’ll love this place. Take out an entire day for this destination and make some unforgettable memories!

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Great travelogue

    Like

Leave a comment