Infinity and beyond- Chapter 2

A. D. 20,160 

Chapter 1:Recap 

The famous immortal scientist Dr. X is the lone survivor on Earth. Dr. X receives an offer from Mercurians, the inhabitants of Mercury, for the post of Prime Scientist. That would mean leaving his beloved Earth forever, as stated in one of the clauses. If he accepts the offer, he can never return and will lose his identity as an Earthling among scores of Mercurians. What will Dr. X decide?

I have finally come to a decision- after much deliberation-of heading to Mercury. I know I’ll have to leave Earth behind, but i also know that I’m not going to regret my decision. Earth is just another celestial body in our Milky Way. There is no human, no plant, no animal left now. All around me is barrenness, a wasteland, a useless piece of earth. And the entire human race was responsible for it. If only they had noticed the signs of climate change in time and acted upon it… Anyway, all that is history. We dug our own graves. 


On Mercury i can pursue my research on the psychology of outer space beings, as i will be appointed as the Prime Scientist. It will take me a few days to pack my research apparatus, material and my belongings and head to Mercury in my spaceship. My belongings are my PRA(Personal Robotic Assistant), my telescope and a rare gold plate passed on to me by my ancestors.

So, finally here I am on Mercury. Don’t think it’s too hot, I told you, the sun stopped shining ages back. I bend down to the little Mercurians. Their leader, Qzekfa is saying something to me. ‘Dr. X, you may start work immediately’, is what the translator assistant is repeating over and over again, till it is replaced by a new sentence. ‘Let me make you aware of the payment system followed on our planet. You will provide your services to our planet, in return, you will be allotted a number of measure which when showed to a seller, will enable you to buy products of your desire. Food will be provided to all the residents, by me, at specified timings. That’s all you need to know at the moment. Now, my assistant will guide you to your work chamber.’

I’m baffled. Such a distinguished and unique form of governance. I’ve much more to learn about how things work here. Not that I have any choice in this matter! 

The Mercurians’ status and jobs are decided at the time of their birth itself. The ones with lower status become farmers, construction workers, slaves, etc. I wish to write about the farms here. A type of crop is grown which is not for resident consumption, rather it is fodder for the Mercurian cows. These cows, in turn, give milk which is used by Mercurians and cow flesh is used to feed the population. Farmers only supervise the work done by robots, they don’t do any manual work themselves. Construction workers, likewise, supervise robots who build structures and which are over in a period equal to 20 Earth minutes. 

They have only a single tier system in place, instead of a three tier form of security which was followed on Earth: they only guard their skies and have a tough surveillance system in place. Rarely have invasions taken place till today. 

Ps: in my next chapter I’m going to reveal the secret of my immortality

Leave a Reply

